Simon Rackham

‘Lockdown’ contains new music for solo piano composed in the period of the lockdown due to Covid-19 in Italy in March and early April 2020. ‘Sunday Every Day’ represents the feeling that every day now sounds like a Sunday with the general lack of familiar urban activity. ‘Waiting and Hoping’, expresses the longed for good news that things are gradually improving. ‘Only birds in the Sky’ is a reflection on the absence of aeroplanes from the skies. And ‘Lockdown’ is the overall feeling of the general restrictions on normal activities. While all the music is diatonic (using only seven notes), a couple of the pieces use slightly unusual scales, ‘Sunday Every Day’ uses a scale of C, D, E flat, F sharp, G, A, B, and ‘Only Birds in the Sky’ uses a scale comprising of C, D, E, F, G, A flat, B.

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4