Simon Rackham

White Noise

by Simon Rackham

Released 2018
Released 2018
Music for solo piano and three pianos with frantic complexity and calm tranquillity
All of the music was composed in the spring and early summer of 2018. The first two pieces are unusual for me as they are (as the title suggests) chromatic, whereas most of my music tends to be diatonic. 'Earthlight' and 'White Noise' return to a diatonic system and both concentrate on the high end of the piano. 'White Noise' is composed for three pianos all playing 'the white notes' above middle C, creating a complex overlapping and interlacing sound. The last piece 'Afterglow' is written as the antithesis of 'White Noise' with a very sparse and empty feel.