Simon Rackham

Slow Movements (in Memory of Jack Pearl)

by Simon Rackham

Released 2012
Released 2012
Eight melancholy piano pieces dedicated to my grandfather Jack Pearl.
‘Slow Movements’ was composed in 2010 on hearing the news of my grandfather Jack Pearl’s illness and subsequent death. He was a passionate music lover, especially fond of Beethoven and Schubert. At that time I listened to quite a bit of their music, mainly the recordings of Alfred Brendel, who was another favourite of my grandfather. In everything I listened to, the slow movements seemed the most poignant, so I decided to write a series of slow movements dedicated to him, to try and capture the sense of melancholy associated with such events. The eighth movement was played at the funeral.