Simon Rackham


by Simon Rackham

Released 2014
Released 2014
Three austere pieces for solo piano.
'Octave' uses only the eight diatonic notes from middle C up to and including the C above. It was composed in 1991 and is dedicated to John Miller. 'Common Time' was composed in the spring of 2014. 'Part One' is a changing rhythm with no direct repeats and is played on a monotone. In 'Part Two' the same rhythmic structure is used as a cannon between two notes, with the second note coming in one bar behind the first. I deliberately kept the rhythmic material 'simple', and refrained from using triplets or dotted rhythms etc.