Simon Rackham

Man Made Music

by Simon Rackham

Released 2011
Released 2011
An undulating mellifluous sound from a rigidly defined compositional structure.
‘Man Made Music’ was composed in 2010 as a rigorous piece of traditional “Systems Music”, i.e. a conceptually preconceived musical structure where the notes are, in this case, allocated by a strict numerical principle. Having decided to use six pianos I gave two notes to each instrument, and those notes are assigned to a number (play this note every twenty beats for example).
It's dedicated to Christopher Hobbs, one of the great exponents of English Systems music.