Simon Rackham

Between the Lines

by Simon Rackham

Released 2015
Released 2015
Six pieces for piano (3 hands) composed between 1996 and 2015
‘Shooting at Angels’ was written a short while after a performance I took part in with the group ‘3 or 4 Composers’ in Holy Trinity Church, Blythburgh, Suffolk, (known as the Cathedral of the Marshes) in 1996. The wooden ceiling is remarkable for the 12 Angels that still remain, some of which have been damaged by being shot at. ‘Between the Lines’ (In memory of Marino Marini) was composed in early 2015, and is dedicated to the memory of the Italian sculptor Marino Marini (1901-1980). The music is written using only notes that fall between the lines on the staves and likewise between ledger lines.
‘Lullaby for Camilla’ was composed in 2014 & ‘Lullaby for Nina’ was composed in 2012, with both pieces dedicated to the children of friends.
‘The Icing on the Cake’ is composed in two sections with the first part chords repeated in the second part with the addition of a light sprinkling of high notes.